Donuts and Sprinkles Tutorials

Ok, I’m finally posting those donuts and sprinkles tutorials I talked about in my last post! In case you missed it, here is the Yay Donuts! party blog post I’m talking about.

First up, the sprinkle rimmed cups! These cups were ridiculously easy!

img_3109-copy

img_3104-copy

Have you ever made that oh so delicious, powered sugar and milk frosting?! This is my husbands favorite! It is the best type of frosting to use for gingerbread houses and really any “food craft”. All you do is mix a good amount of powdered sugar together with a tiny bit of milk. Combine the two ingredients until the consistency is what you wish! For these cups, I wanted it to be super, super thick! So I used a very tiny bit of milk.

First, take your cup and dip the rim in the frosting. You want to just get enough to cover the rim and not have much dripping off. Next, dip the frosted rim in sprinkles! You might need to twirl the cup around a bit so the frosting and sprinkles don’t drip. Luckily, this frosting dries really  fast, so you only need to do this for a few seconds.

img_3106-copy

img_3110-copy

img_3108-copy

And in just those two steps, you’re done! My favorite part about this frosting is that it dries almost clear! It really makes the sprinkles look like they are apart of the cup.

cupsnamed

I ordered these bright pink straws and then cut them to size…. aren’t they so cute?! I’m really obsessed with the idea of these cups and cannot wait to do it again!

My mini chocolate donuts tutorial has a few more steps, but is still easy!

img_30999

img_3077named

You will need a silicone donut mold. I ordered mine from Amazon. There are different size options. I chose the one that made 4cm molds. Honestly, I think this size or smaller is best.

img_3083named

Next, melt your choice of chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl. I chose the peanut butter chips and chocolate chips. Next time I will add some white chocolate chips to add another variety to the donuts.

Once the chips are melted, pour the chocolate into the mold. You don’t have to wipe off the excess chocolate where the holes are, but it did make the next steps a tad easier!

After the molds are full, place the tray in the freezer until the chocolate is hard.

img_3092_edited-1

Once hardened, remove from freezer and bend the mold until they pop out! I love how easy this step was. Silicone molds for the win! You can see in the photos above the different shades of donuts depending on the chocolate I used.

Let the donuts warm up to room temperature.

img_30944

For the frosting, you can either use white chocolate chips or that powdered sugar and milk frosting we talked about above. I used the powdered sugar recipe since that’s what I had on hand. Next time I am going to try the white chocolate chips to see which way I like best.

So melt your white chips, or mix your frosting…. then add in some food coloring.

Take a spoon and drizzle the frosting on top of the donuts.

img_30977

Be sure to put the sprinkles on before the frosting dries so they stick well! After they are frosted and sprinkled, place in fridge or freezer until the frosting is hard.

img_31000

 

When the frosting is hardened and the sprinkles are stuck, remove the donuts from the fridge or freezer.

Use some sort of dowel or skewer to poke out the holes in the middle. And voila! Miniature chocolate donuts! 🙂

img_3118named

These donuts may be little, but they sure were a big hit!

Hopefully these tutorials work for you! I’m all about DIYs, but at this point in my life, they have to be easy and not very time consuming! Both of these were exactly that.

Enjoy!

x71rzb00533y269o8rp

 

Leave a Reply

